Skip to main content

Uncertainties 6

Estimated shipping late June 2023.

“I am writing only for my shadow . . . I must make myself known to him.” – Sadegh Hedayat

“Ghost stories,” as Elizabeth Bowen observed, “are not easy to write—least easy now, for they involve more than they did.” But these eleven writers take up the challenge, each in their own way, with expert awareness of the genre’s limitless possibilities.

Uncertainties is an anthology series—featuring authors from Ireland, France, Canada, the United States, and the United Kingdom—each exploring the concept of increasingly fragmented senses of reality. These types of short stories were termed “strange tales” by Robert Aickman, called “tales of the unexpected” by Roald Dahl, and known to Shakespeare’s ill-fated Prince Mamillius as “winter’s tales”. But these are no mere ghost stories. These tales of the uncanny grapple with existential epiphanies of the modern day, when otherwise familiar landscapes become sinister and something decidedly less than certain . . .


Hardback edition limited to 450 copies.
Signed or inscribed by the editor on request.

Cover art by David Tibet
Selected by Brian J. Showers

ISBN: 978-1-78380-045-2 (hbk)

Agents of Oblivion

“How long have things been coming apart in this way?” – The Lure of Silence

“Generally speaking the dead do not return,” pronounced Antonin Artaud. But the dead are permitted to visit those who welcome them. Their spectral, machine-made voices echo in deep tunnels under London. Voices without hosts. Without agency. They make their oracular pronouncements even when nobody is listening on the vast empty platforms of the Elizabeth Line. They have their codes and their secret meanings.

Four stories starting everywhere and finishing in madness. Four acknowledged guides. Four tricksters. Four inspirations. Algernon Blackwood. Arthur Machen. J. G. Ballard. H. P. Lovecraft. They are known as “Agents of Oblivion”. And sometimes, in brighter light, as oblivious angels . . .

As host, as oracle, Iain Sinclair moves through this quartet of tales, through a spectral London that once was, or might never have been.


Hardback edition limited to 550 copies.
Signed by Sinclair and McKean.

Cover art and illustrations by Dave McKean

ISBN: 978-1-78380-044-5 (hbk)

Now It’s Dark

“Have I not always loved terrible things?” – “The Seventh Wave”

A student’s research into an obscure pulp writer takes on increasingly sinister tones; three friends reunite to fight an evil they thought they’d escaped decades earlier; a woman in a seemingly perfect marriage finds herself haunted by the mysterious absences in her memories of their life together.

In her third collection, Lynda E. Rucker reminds us that mystery lurks even in the most banal settings—a British holiday park, a Moldovan tower block, a stretch of industrial wasteland—but as these ten stories reveal, there can also remain a dreadful beauty amidst the horror.

  • Read John Coulthart’s blog post about his cover art.
  • Listen to the No Darkness But Ours podcast with Lynda E. Rucker.

Hardback edition limited to 400 copies.
Signed by Rucker, Shearman, and Coulthart.

Cover art by John Coulthart
Introduction by Rob Shearman

ISBN: 978-1-78380-043-8 (hbk)

Strange Stories by Irish Women

Want to read our Strange Stories by Irish Women series, but don’t know where to start? Why not buy them all!

We’re offering a special discount: 7 paperbacks for 105 EUR.

Bending to Earth: Strange Stories by Irish Women
Maria Giakaniki and Brian J. Showers (eds.)

Earth-Bound and Other Supernatural Tales
Dorothy Macardle

Not to Be Taken at Bed-Time and Other Strange Stories
Rosa Mulholland

“Number Ninety” & Other Ghost Stories
B. M. Croker

The Death Spancel and Others
Katharine Tynan

Eyes of Terror and Other Dark Adventures
L. T. Meade

A Vanished Hand and Others
Clotilde Graves

No substitutions, please.

Just order using the PayPal button at the left.

This offer is inclusive of domestic and international shipping.

These paperbacks ship from the United Kingdom.
(If you require these books be posted from within the EU, please contact us before ordering.)

Single volumes can still be bought at the regular prices.

Some of these volumes are also available in limited edition hardback at regular prices.

If you’re after out of print hardbacks, please check with our booksellers, who might still have some in stock.

As always, let us know if you have any questions.

Swan River Press Tote Bag

Behold! The official Swan River Press cotton tote bag!

How would you expect to carry your books otherwise?

  • 100% Cotton
  • Double-sided Design

Quis Separabit

“Shortly after crossing La Touche Bridge and proceeding south along Rathmines Road, you will notice a nondescript and ultimately dead end lane stretching to the west. This is tiny Blackberry Lane, as evidenced by a sign bolted to the adjacent terrace, and in days past it was literally neither here nor there. This east-west lane was once a narrow and much lengthier bohreen beat through the dense foliage between the Earl of Meath’s lands to the south and the old Farm of St. Sepulchre to the north. It should arouse no curiosity that neither estate claimed this stretch of ground, as for countless generations it was primarily utilised by the dead. Until 1850, the lane served as a corpse road–a path used not only by funeral processions, but also, according to belief, by souls of the deceased.”


This limited edition chapbook is sold out.
Please check with our Booksellers for remaining copies.

Cover art by Jeffrey C. Roche

ISBN: N/A

No. 70 Merrion Square: Part 2

No. 70 Merrion Square has been published in two volumes and is told in a classic supernatural-tales style. Psychologist Dr. Sean McCormack is visiting his old friend in Dublin, Andrew Hampton, ‘this millennium’s master of the macabre,’ who fears he’s going mad. His address, 70 Merrion Square, once belonged to the Victorian ghost-story writer Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu, and Hampton’s first book after purchasing the house was a commercial flop. Since then, he has failed to write another book.

“Is Hampton going mad, and can McCormack help him? Set on a rainy night shortly before Christmas in an old haunted mansion, No. 70 Merrion Square has all the trappings of a memorable ghost story and is enhanced by Spurlock’s atmospheric drawings.” – The Harrow


This limited edition chapbook is sold out.
Please check with our Booksellers for remaining copies.

Cover art by Duane Spurlock

ISBN: N/A

No. 70 Merrion Square: Part 1

“Anyone familiar with Brian J. Showers’ supernatural stories, presented in the delightful miniature chapbooks of Swan River Press, so tastefully illustrated by Duane Spurlock and Meggan Kehrli, will not be disappointed by his latest publication: No. 70 Merrion Square. Aficionados will recognise the address of the Dublin house where the great Sheridan Le Fanu wrote some of his finest tales and spent the last lonely decades of his life. Showers has cleverly engaged with the motif of Le Fanu by writing a story in which the protagonist, a horror author seeking renewed inspiration, settles in the house and encounters troubling experiences.

“Inter-textual references, to classic and contemporary supernatural writers, constantly inform the narrative, making it great fun for the connoisseur; and it is threaded with a vein of wry humour, tastefully and effectively juxtaposed against the horror, never an easy task. Throughout, the narrative displays the author’s lucid prose style and easy pace, a hallmark of all his previous work: in a phrase, Showers is a damned good story-teller, as well as a master of atmosphere and a shrewdly informed practitioner of the ghostly tale. Working closely within established genre conventions–haunted house, ghostly possession, numinous dreams, the angry dead, the inspiration and alienation of the artist, and the borderland between insanity and the supernatural– Showers has written a superb tribute to Victorian Gothic set within 21st Century Dublin. Few modern writers can be as versed in the supernatural heritage of that atmospheric city, with its strange mix of glitzy economic miracle and elegantly sombre past.” – Peter Bell


This limited edition chapbook is sold out.
Please check with our Booksellers for remaining copies.

Cover art by Duane Spurlock

ISBN: N/A

Tigh an Bhreithimh

A struggling writer travels to a remote cottage in western Ireland for the solitude and inspiration he needs to finish writing his first novel. But when the forgotten secrets of the desolate landscape want to be remembered, he learns a lesson in fear, one more terrifying than any tale he could ever write. In the tradition of M. R. James and J. Sheridan Le Fanu, Brian J. Showers’s Tigh an Bhreithimh is a tale that is sure to please fans of the traditional ghost story.

“I really enjoyed Tigh an Bhreithimh, which is a nicely written ghost story set in a small town in Ireland. The atmosphere—puzzle and horror—is very well handled, and the folkways are interesting. The story is conveyed in a small, attractive chapbook with good line illustrations by Duane Spurlock.” – E. F. Bleiler


This limited edition chapbook is sold out.
Please check with our Booksellers for remaining copies.

Cover art by Duane Spurlock

ISBN: N/A

The Snow Came Softly Down

“Small but perfectly formed, The Snow Came Softly Down by Brian J. Showers is a delightfully-produced little chapbook with its own ribbon marker and simple but effective line drawings by Duane Spurlock, containing ‘A Tale Concerning Ghosts’. You would expect from this, and from the old-fashioned typeface, that it is set in a more innocent era, and so it proves. M. R. James would probably disapprove of the decidedly benign spooks, but the tale cannot be faulted for atmosphere–especially the protagonist’s scary walk through the freezing woods on Christmas Eve. If I call the tone of the story ‘Dickensian’ it is meant as a compliment, evoking as it does those semi-mythical White Yuletides depicted on a certain type of Christmas card… but with added creepiness. Wordsworth’s poem ‘Lucy Gray’, possibly an inspiration to the tale and certainly complementing it, rounds off this charming book.” – Chico Kidd, All Hallows


This limited edition chapbook is sold out.
Please check with our Booksellers for remaining copies.

Cover art by Duane Spurlock

ISBN: N/A