by Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu

Hardback: December 2014 (300)
Cover image by Paul Lowe
Length: xi + 132 pages
ISBN: 978-1-78380-004-9

Our limited edition hardback is sold out.

"I know there is a God — a dreadful God — and that retribution follows guilt.""The Watcher"

For the first time in over 150 years, “The Watcher”, Le Fanu’s classic tale of supernatural menace, is reissued from the pages of the Dublin University Magazine along with its original companion piece “The Fatal Bride”, a brooding gothic novella not reprinted since its first publication in 1848. Like matched duelling pistols, Reminiscences of a Bachelor offers the most exquisite balance of craftsmanship, beauty, and peril. In these tales of Old Dublin, honour is ever at stake, the fate of lovers lies mired in the past, and something even worse than deceit stalks the streets, something just as deadly to the soul as it is to the flesh.


    Matthew Holness

"The Watcher"
"The Fatal Bride"

"From an Ancient Leathern Armchair:
Some Comments on the Bachelor"
    Jim Rockhill & Brian J. Showers

"A Note on 'The Watcher' "
    Jim Rockhill & Brian J. Showers


Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu was born in Dublin on 28 August 1814. Though he worked as a journalist and owned several newspapers, he is now best remembered for his pioneering tales of the psychological and supernatural such as “Schalken the Painter”, “Green Tea”, and “Carmilla”. His notable novels include The House by the Church-yard (1863) and Uncle Silas (1864). Le Fanu’s seminal short story collection In a Glass Darkly was published in 1872, less than a year before his death on 7 February 1873.

Matthew Holness is a film and television director. He co-created the Channel 4 series Garth Marenghi’s Darkplace, and has recently written and directed A Gun For George (Film4) and The Snipist (Sky Arts Playhouse).

Other Swan River titles by or about Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu
Dreams of Shadow and Smoke: Stories for J.S. Le Fanu (2014)
Laura Silver Bell (2012)
Joseph Sheridan Le Fanu — A Concise Bibliography (2011)
The Complete Ghost Stories of Chapelizod (2011)
The Ballads and Poems of J. Sheridan Le Fanu (2011)
My Aunt Margaret's Adventure (2009)

All contents of this page are © Brian J. Showers 2003-2015. All individual copyrights are retained by the creators.
Nothing may be reproduced without written permission.