The Demon Angler & One Other
by Mervyn Wall

Printings: January 2013 (125)
Style: A5, hand-sewn pamphlet
Length: 28 pages

Out of print

Mervyn Wall's "The Demon Angler" was first published in The Capuchin Annual in 1943. "Cloonaturk" was first published in Argosy (London) in 1947; it was also printed in Weird Tales in 1989/90. These tales of rural Ireland, verging on the supernatural, reflect the same dark humour and satire found in Wall's popular novels The Unfortunate Fursey and The Return of Fursey. "The Demon Angler" and "Cloonaturk" were republished in Wall's only collection, now difficult to find, A Flutter of Wings, in 1974.

The Demon Angler & One Other is limited to 125 copies. Although the booklet was printed in January 2013, it was not issued until 2015 when it was given away free with the first 100 copies of The Unfortunate Fursey and The Return of Fursey sold through this website.

Mervyn Wall (1908-1997) was born in Dublin. He was educated in Belvedere College; Bonn, Germany; and obtained his B.A. from the National University of Ireland in 1928. After fourteen years in the Civil Service, he joined Radio Eireann as Programme Officer. In 1957 he became Secretary of the Arts Council of Ireland, retiring in 1975. Known during his lifetime as a broadcaster and critic, he is best remembered for his plays and novels. His book Leaves for the Burning won Denmark’s Best European Novel award in 1952.

Other Swan River Titles by Mervyn Wall
Leaves for the Burning (2020)
A Flutter of Wings (2017)
The Unfortunate Fursey (2015)
The Return of Fursey (2015)
The Demon Angler & One Other (2013)

All contents of this page are © Brian J. Showers 2003-2015. All individual copyrights are retained by the creators.
Nothing may be reproduced without written permission.